iRALL School 2017 – Application Open for PhD students and Young Doctors

“iRALL” The International Research Association on Large Landslides, offers annually a 2 weeks high-level course, the “*iRALL School*”, focusing on investigation, analysis, and management of large landslides for Ph.D students and doctors/postdocs from all over the world, with international experts on the research of large landslides as teaching staff. Continue reading

International Symposium on micro to macro mathematical modelling in soil mechanics

The international symposium on micro to macro mathematical modelling in soil mechanics will be held in Reggio Calabria (Italy) on May 29 – June 01, 2018, at the Department of Civil, Energy, Environmental and Materials Engineering (DICEAM) at University Mediterranea of Reggio Calabria.

Further detailed information about the Symposium can be found in the attached flyer and will appear on the web page of the Symposium

PETRUS-ANNETTE PhD Conference in Radioactive Waste Management and Geological Disposal

Following the successful PhD conferences in Nancy, France and Delft, the Netherlands, we are looking forward to the third in the series to be held in Lisbon, Portugal from the 26th to 30th June 2017. This event is part PhD school, having expert lecturers, and part research conference, where you can present your own work.

See for more details.

PhD position in Risk Assessment and Hazard Integration at TU Delft

The TU Delft is looking for a PhD student looking at complex risks and the integration into hazard assessment. The focus is on extreme events, e.g. flooding and tsunamis, leading to geotechnical failure within the context of nuclear power stations. The hazard integration aspect will cover both technical and social (e.g. organisational and human aspects). The PhD project is part of a EU research programme involving 18 partners. Students with a strong mathematical or engineering background are encouraged to apply.

Please see the attachment for more details.

Doctoral school on “Recent trends in the ecoconstruction of buildings” (free public event)

The Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour ( and the “Marie Curie” Network TERRE ( are organizing a doctoral school on the theme “Recent trends in the ecoconstruction of buildings”, which will be open free of charge to all those interested. The school will take place on 28 and 29 September 2017 in Anglet, next to the touristic city of Biarritz on the French Basque Coast. Continue reading

ALERT Workshop 2017 – 3rd call for abstracts

The ALERT Workshop 2017 (28th Edition) will be held in Aussois from 2nd October to 4th October, 2017. Abstracts can only be submitted to the first and third session (Monday and Wednesday, respectively), because the second half-day session on Tuesday will be held by invited speakers only. Please submit your abstracts by email directly to the coordinators using the Workshop abstract form (doc, odt, pdf). If you wish to publish your presentation after the Workshop on the ALERT website, do not forget to agree by ticking the corresponding box in the abstract form. Continue reading

Registration for the ALERT Workshop & School 2017 is open!


The registration for the ALERT Geomaterials Workshop and School 2017 is open now! Please read the hints in the registration form! After filling the form and pressing the button “Register”, a window will open with your invoice. Please print the window with the invoice for your records! You will also get an email with the registration data afterwards. In case of the registration of the ALERT members, the corresponding representative of the ALERT institution will receive the registration data too.

Link to the registration form.

The deadline for the registration is the September 18th! The accomodation in Aussois will be processed in the order of the registrations (see the hints in the registration form). Please note that the number of rooms in the CNRS “Centre Paul Langevin“ is limited.
See also hints on how to get to Aussois!

University of Nottingham – Assistant and Associate Professor positions in Geotechnical Engineering

We are currently looking to recruit an Assistant and Associate Professor at the University of Nottingham in the area of geotechnical engineering. The positions are full time Research and Teaching – the research being conducted under the umbrella of the Nottingham Centre for Geomechanics which is well equipped to facilitate a wide range of research interests ( and the teaching within the Department of Civil Engineering. Continue reading